Experimental Music Love

January 8, 2008

Lavender Diamond Interview

Filed under: Features,Interviews — by Free Edinburgh Podcast @ 9:03 pm

EML– You’re supporting The Decemberists on their European tour. How did that come about?

Becki – Well this is funny actually. It’s so silly, but it came about through the Internet. Well, that’s not entirely it. We have a friend in Los Angeles who has a small record label that put our first split seven inch and she also worked with The Decemberists. She’d take them on tour and they came across our MySpace page and listened to the two songs we have on there…

 

EML – …and loved them?

Becki – Well, they must have thought they were good songs. It’s funny though as a t the end of our tour in the US with them, we asked if they wanted a copy of their EP and they didn’t even know we had one. All they’d heard of us were our live shows and from our MySpace page.

 

EML – It shows the way music’s working now. All you really need is a MySpace page to show off your songs.

Becki – Exactly, like Lily Allen. I met her a while ago before her record came out and she came into the little dress shop I was working in. She came in with this guy called Greg who lived at the bottom of my street and was helping out on her album. And they just came into the shop and Lily bought like 15 dressed and they were all my favourite dresses in the whole shop. All the beautiful dresses that I had my eye on. And I was like “Woah, you picked out all the best dresses in the shop, I just have to ask who are you, I’m totally psyched about your dress taste.” Then she was like (adopts rather fitting London accent) “I’m Lily Allen and I’m going to be the biggest star on MySpace,” which just made me want to laugh, but I tried to remain respectful. Then Greg asked her how many friends she had and she said (in that London accent again) “Oh, I’ve got 2000 now, but soon I’ll have millions. I’m going to be the Queen of MySpace.” I was totally impressed by just how outrageous and audacious she was about MySpace. And then months later it all came true. We came to London for our first UK show. I was asking about this sweet girl I met in LA who was making a record and claimed she was going to be the Queen of MySpace, and everyone was like, “Don’t you know she’s at number one?” and she was on the cover of NME in a cool dress, and she’d bought fifteen of our dresses.

 

EML – Have you added her?

Becki – I think I have. I listened to Smile on her MySpace and thought it was a good song. Catchy.

 

EML – What can we expect from a Lavender Diamond live show?

Becki – Well…

 

EML – I heard about you getting a wand for Christmas that you were going to show off on stage…

Becki – Oh, I forgot my wand! Well I have one wand. Oh no. I gave that wand with all the lights and sounds to a child.

 

EML – Did they deserve it?

Becki – Yeah, she totally deserved it. She was like ‘wow’, her name’s Arrow, and she was really happy about it. Ron, our drummer, was like “Are you sure you want to give your magic wand away, when we’re about to go on tour?” But Arrow was about 9 and would enjoy the wand more than me. But what if I’ve made a grave mistake?

 

EML – You could have ruined your whole tour…

Becki – Oh my God. Just because I forgot my magic wand?

 

EML – I’m sure you could get one in Glasgow.

Becki – Do you think the pound store might have one?

Josh Frankfort (tour manager of Lavender Diamond) – I saw a Wandery up the road.

Becki – I thought that people might laugh at me.

 

EML – But they’d appreciate that in Glasgow.

Becki – I shouldn’t have given that magic wand away to that little girl. She was so psyched about it and I was trying to be more serious about it. Oh no.

 

EML – We’ll move on from wands now in case you get too upset. You’re released an EP already, but when can we expect a full length album?

Becki – Our album’s released in May. The first week.

 

EML – Have you got a title?

Becki – Yeah, it’s called ‘Imagine Our Love’ (laughs). Ron came up with that title. I didn’t want it to be called that for a long time, I was resisting. I kept waking up in the morning with other titles in our head that I’d spring at him.

 

EML – What, like ‘Satan is our Master’?

Becki – Yeah, like ‘Satan is the Devil’ and stuff like that (laughs).

 

EML – You could still have it in brackets afterwards.

Becki – Imagine Our Love (Satan is the Devil)? (laughs)

 

EML – Are you looking forward to the album coming out?

Becki – Yeah I’m excited. But I’m a little nervous as well. We put a lot into this album, so I believe that this album is very beautiful to me. I really love this album.

 

EML – Would you say it’s a part of you?

Becki – (laughs) Yeah, it could be.

 

EML – You said you lost your voice to it?

Becki – Yeah, I lost my voice right after we’d completely finished the record. It was a very weird experience. It definitely felt like my first had just entered into the album. I was listening to the record and I was like “Well, there’s my voice. Maybe I’ll never get it back again.” It was a mystical experience actually. I’d never lost my voice before. It was weird, cos I’m a singer…

 

EML – It’s your tool.

Becki – Yeah, it’s like I’m a carpenter or something. Except I’m not a carpenter. It’s given me a new appreciation for my voice though. It provided a window of contemplation in a way. I mean I actually couldn’t say a word for five days.

 

EML – Was that hard?

Becki – Yeah. But it was over Christmas so I was at my parents’ house so it was easier. It made realise a lot of things. It made me appreciate my voice. It also made me realise that I talk too much, and I could listen a lot more. I don’t think I really appreciated my voice. It’s hard to appreciate yourself, you know. I knew singing was something I could do. A skill I had.

 

EML – You took it for granted?

Becki – Yeah, I really took it for granted. It’s something tend to do. We take ourselves for granted. We take other people for granted. We take the Earth for granted. We take all the clean water, clean air. We take so much granted. So hopefully I won’t take things for granted so much. It was a bit scary though, thinking about never getting my voice back. But at least it’s on this recording. And then I’d have to become something else.

 

EML – A writer?

Becki – Yeah, that’s what I was thinking.

 

EML – But then you might lose your hands…

Becki – Then where would I be? I’d have top be a dancer. A foot dancer.

 

EML – Your drummer, Ron Rege Jr also does a series of comics for the band. Is it important to have more to Lavender Diamond than just the music?

Becki – Yeah, in the future, we’re excited about expanding even more. We’re going to have plays and I’ve got all kinds of schemes. But Ron is really wonderful cartoonist and it’s important to express the ideals of our little collective.

 

EML – The comics seem to focus on happier ideals as well. Is that reflective of your characters?

Becki – We realise that, we’re happy, and sometimes scary bad. But for this particular music… well, the idea of Lavender Diamond, what that means technically, is the description of a resonance. All the different colours in the spectrum resonate at different frequencies, that’s what distinguishes them. In fact that’s what separates all matter. I mean, matter is kind of a myth anyway, well according to most modern science. The world is made of sounds, vibrational energy. That’s how things are separated. So everything has a different sound. Like people’s voices sound that way because of your body and it’s like your identity. All matter vibrates at different frequencies. Red for instance vibrates more slowly than orange so as you go up the colour spectrum so as you go up the colour spectrum, the vibrations change. And stones as well…

 

EML – Like Mick Jagger? I wonder what his vibrations are like?

Becki – That’s a good question. I’d imagine his vibrations to be pretty radical. But Lavender Diamond is a description of a resonance. The idea of it, is that it’s a description of a feeling. The way that things can have a healing effect by actually speeding the frequencies of these vibrations. The difference between a sick person and a well person is that the vibrational energy of the sick person has dropped. It’s true..

 

EML – I’ll trust you.

Becki – Well Lavender Diamond is healing resonance and we’re sending out healing rays…

 

EML – Through your music?

Becki – So that’s why our music has a tone of happiness and joy, and maybe because we’ve all had very deep sadness, the idea was to create a healing resonance. It’s like a laser beam or something. And if it’s not joyful energy it won’t go through the target. It won’t have any meaning if it’s not joyful. That’s the experience we’ve had in our shows. It doesn’t carry if it’s not happy.

 

EML – What’s the happiest thing you can think of?

Becki – Being here right now.

 

EML – Talking to me?

Becki – Talking to you. It’s the happiest thing I can think of right now because I’m having a good time. I don’t know. What’s the happiest thing you can think of?

 

EML – My cuff links actually (as I display my new cuff links, one with Dick Van Dyke’s face circa 1965, the other with his face circa 2005).

 

Becki – Oh wow. Are you serious?

 

EML – That’s him in his younger Chitty Chitty Bang Bang days, and that’s him older and wiser in his Diagnosis Murder days.

Becki – Those are completely hilarious.

 

EML – Do you want to borrow them for tonight?

Becki – No, I could not take your cuff links. They’re yours. I can’t believe those. Dick Van Dyke’s amazing.

 

EML – He’s eighty you know.

Becki – Eighty!?!?

 

EML – Have you seen Night at the Museum?

Becki – Not yet no.

 

EML – He kicks Ben Stiller in the face in that.

Becki – (almost spits out her tea)

 

EML – He’s still got it. Anyway, you’ve already played SXSW in Texas, and that’s one of the big festivals out there, but is there still anywhere you would just love to play at?

Becki – Oh yeah, definitely. I don’t even want to say it though.

 

EML – Glastonbury?

Becki – Oh yeah, that would be amazing.

 

EML – Are you doing any festivals this summer?

Becki – We don’t know yet. But hopefully we are. I don’t know if it’s too late if we don’t know now.

 

EML – You seem quite an eccentric sort…

Becki – I guess I feel like I’ve always been so eccentric that I want to be normal. Like all I’ve ever wanted is to be normal. Like this depiction of being a massive weirdo had caused me a lot of pain, and still to this day, whenever someone called me ‘eccentric’ I go, ‘but I’m just like everybody else’ (laughs).

 

EML – But you shouldn’t want to be like everybody else.

Becki – I know. I guess I shouldn’t. But when you’re a little kid and you’re being weird and not fitting in. I guess everyone’s eccentric when it comes down to it. Everybody’s different. It’s good to express your individuality. I never try to be eccentric, I guess I just am. I think I look normal today.

 

EML – What’s on your iPod?

Becki – I don’t have an iPod. I just like listening to live music, I got to a lot of concerts.

 

EML – Where do you see yourselves this time next year?

Becki – Well, this time next year, there’ll be peace on planet Earth. And humans collectively, will have totally evolved out of terroristic behaviour. There’ll be no more destroying the Earth for profit. That will all just be a memory and we’ll be like “can you imagine how last year we destroyed the Earth for profit?” We’ll talk about it the same way people talk about how we used to drown witches, people won’t believe how barbaric it was. That’s mainly what it will be like next year.

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

